Crispy treats and a sore head…

Hi everyone, sorry for the lack of posting in the last week, life happened! I had three assignments due and a test, and then I got a really bad knock to the head on Saturday night and am now left with a concussion, and one very sore head and neck. For now, uni and work are on hold while my head gets better. I was told by the doctor not to concentrate or stare at screens for too long – so I’m cheating a bit by posting this. But really, when I can’t watch lots of TV and movies, or read, what else am I supposed to do when at home, tired with a sore head? Do some simple easy cooking of course. So I am sharing with you some delicious clean chocolate treats that I made and yes I just said healthy and chocolate together!

When not feeling well, my eating tends to slide as I use sickness as an excuse. I, of course, cannot exercise so I know I need to be more careful than usual with making healthy choices, otherwise I am likely to end up feeling like crap. Naturally there is a lot of easter chocolate still left at my house, which kept calling my name. So these little clean chocolate crispies were my remedy to the chocolate cravings.

Chocolate crispies were always a favourite of mine as a child because what else sounds better than something crunchy and chocolate coated? I remember mum eventually refusing to make them any more, because we wouldn’t eat the left over rice bubbles for breakfast! I think once you had them coated in chocolate and sugar having them for breakfast with milk seemed a bit boring. These were always a favourite at kid’s parties and shared lunches, so here is a healthy version for you all to enjoy.

I had brought buckwheat groats for the first time the previous weekend, as I was going to start adding them as a topping on smoothies and my oats in the morning. A naturally gluten-free seed, high in protein as well as magnesium and dietary fibre. They can be a great gluten-free alternative to oats in the morning. Or could be used to replace rice in a meal. As I brought ‘groats’ I had to activate by buckwheat – a fancy word for soaking. Buckwheat is one of the quickest seeds to do this with, I soaked mine for 20 minutes, rinsed and then dried them out by roasting them in a pan for 5ish minutes. I don’t think mine were completely dried out, and it probably is preferable to dehydrate them slowly in oven. Once dried out they could also be ground into a flour to make things like buckwheat pancakes.

As it was my first time using buckwheat, I only used a small amount of what I brought – just in case I didn’t like the recipe – although with chocolate in it, I don’t know why I was worried. I simply took 1/2 a cup of activated buckwheat and 1/3 of a cup of shredded coconut and tossed them in a pan for 5-10 minutes. Then I combined around 2 tablespoons of melted coconut oil, 1-2 tablespoons of runny honey, and 1 tablespoon of cacao. Simply stir this mixture through the buckwheat and coconut, spoon into patty cases and freeze. So quick and simple to make for an easy treat! This made 6 little crackles.

20140507-174534.jpg

20140507-174541.jpg

20140507-174547.jpg

After trying one, I probably could have had more liquid to my buckwheat and coconut mixture, as it wasn’t quite chocolatey enough all the way through. But the bits with the right amount of chocolate were perfect. When I was scooping them into the cases I couldn’t believe how much it smelt like the chocolate crackles I remembered. While my buckwheat wasn’t quite as light and crunchy as I would have liked – this was likely due to my rushed soaking of the groats, I think the texture would improve if done properly.

Hopefully you can enjoy this easy little chocolate treat, and maybe even substitute it for the nasty unhealthy version when you next have to take a shared plate, enjoy!

20140507-174557.jpg

20140507-174603.jpg

20140507-174612.jpg

I enjoyed my ‘crispie’ with a green smoothie for afternoon tea today – so good!

If you would like to read more about activating the buckwheat, see here: (http://nouveauraw.com/special-raw-ingredients/how-to-sprout-and-use-buckwheat-groats/)

Leave a Reply

