A Green Super Curry!

So I have made this recipe twice now and both times just wow, so good! This recipe is great because it based on the super green spinach (hence the title of this post) a vegetable renowned for it’s great properties and it contains large quantities of it in a dish that sounds reasonably familiar to most people – a curry. On top of spinach, it also contains my favourite ingredient of the moment – lemon! You can easily make this curry vegetarian/vegan and I promise it isn’t spicy at all, for all those spice sensitive people out there like myself.

I firstly cooked this meal for my family and to me cooking healthy food for myself and cooking healthy food for my family always feels different. I always feel a little more pressured when I cook for my family because I feel like they will be less forgiving then my own and my partner’s opinion. Although I know they will be supportive no matter what I serve them. I spied this recipe online a while ago, and it is from a popular New Zealand chef. The comments on the recipe were all so positive and I was intrigued. My family, while accepting of my healthy eating choices are always a little cautious of my ‘weird food’ regardless of how much I maintain the mantra that I just eat normal food. So I tend to choose recipes which I think won’t be too outside their ‘normal’ spectrum. The green colour meant this recipe was cutting it a little fine, but it was a great success overall and well enjoyed by everyone. I think this is a great recipe to sneak extra vegetables into without people noticing  – so have fun!

To create this recipe you will need:

3 tablespoons of oil
2 onions, diced
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground chili
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground tumeric
3 teaspoons of crushed garlic
2 teaspoons of ground ginger (or 2cm fresh grated ginger)
300g of fresh spinach leaves
1 can of crushed tomatoes
800g skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into large chunks / or for a vegetarian/vegan option here add your favourite legume
Juice of one lemon
Brown rice to serve

First: heat oil in a large fry pan, fry onions with spices until golden (around five minutes)
Second: Rinse and chop the spinach, then puree/combine in a blender with the tomatoes and onions and spices.
Third: Fry the chicken pieces until the meat is sealed and lightly brown.
Fourth: Add the spinach puree to the chicken, simmer on a medium heat until the chicken is cooked through. This is around 15 minutes.
Serve with brown rice and additional steamed greens such as broccoli and beans, and a drizzle of Greek yogurt tops it off nicely if you have some!

While 300 grams of spinach seems like a lot, it disappears very quickly to become a great sauce so don’t be alarmed. It combines so well with the tomatoes to create a rich sauce, which leaves out some of the creamy heaviness that you normally get with curries. The puree itself really only contains vegetables so it is extremely good for you and easy on the stomach. I really hope you all enjoy this recipe and can get some greens into some more apprehensive mouths. Enjoy!

P.S. you can find the original recipe here : http://nadialim.com/recipe/chicken-saagwala/

20140802-165619-60979173.jpg 20140802-165622-60982467.jpg

I used my blender to puree my sauce together, but the first time I mixed it I used a hand-held stick blender and that worked fine as well – just think of it as a tomato and onion green smoothie.

20140802-165625-60985408.jpg

The curry simmering away on the stove, I don’t have a lid for my saucepan, so I had curry everywhere!

20140802-165628-60988968.jpg

The final product, with a drizzle of homemade Greek yogurt over the top and a sprinkle of sunflower seeds, and of course – more lemon!

One thought on “A Green Super Curry!

Leave a Reply

