Chocolate Peanut Butter Oats

I can’t believe I have only found these now. They literally blew my mind. I am one of the biggest oat lovers, which is quite amusing (to me anyway) because I never, NEVER, used to eat porridge. I didn’t enjoy the texture or taste at all, even the smell used to put me off. However, when I really started to look into my eating I saw all the benefits of starting my day with oats and once I started to experiment I realised exactly how good I could make them. I have stuck with the same recipe with my oats for so long now, but after discovering this, I might just be converted. Judging by the fact that I have had them every day since I am going to say yes to that. I think the best thing about this recipe is that it feels like such a treat not only when you are eating it, but when you are cooking it. It gives off the most amazing hot chocolate smell that is just the best way to start your morning.

Instagram – my constant inspiration, was also my source for this idea. After seeing numerous posts of chocolate oats and already having a good week chocolate-wise with my avocado mousse, I decided to give it a go and have my own attempt. I just went with what ingredients I thought would work and amazingly enough, they were great first try. After two attempts – even better. I couldn’t believe how much it smells like hot chocolate, it was just amazing and really gives you such a warm feeling on a cold winters day. An addition of peanut butter and seeds worked a treat, or alternatively go for more sweet by adding berries or bananas – you really can’t go wrong when you start with chocolate!

To make your Chocolate Oats you will need:
1/2 cup rolled oats (chose your favourite type, gluten free is necessary)
1/2 scoop vanilla protein (completely optional, I just like to add it in as a good start to my day to help keep me full)
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 teaspoon cacao
A big sprinkle of cinnamon
1/2 cup of almond milk
1/2 cup of water

Toppings: sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, homemade peanut butter, berries, bananas (anything else you can be creative with)

First: In a bowl combine your dry ingredients (oats, protein, cacao, seeds, cinnamon) and give a big mix until well combined
Second: Add your liquids (this recipe also works well with 1 cup of water, so it is up to you) and mix well again
Third: Cook in the microwave for 1 minute, take out and stir, cook for another minute and then add your toppings.
These oats could also be prepped the night before and left to soak, or eaten cold – it really it up to you.

So enjoy, the creamy, chocolately deliciousness – I hope it can brighten up a dull morning for you!

20140810-095917-35957559.jpg

 This was a combination with greek yoghurt (homemade), loooooots of peanut butter, seeds and cinnamon – soooo good!

20140810-095916-35956118.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

