Cinnamon Apple Pie Oats

Hello all you oat lovers out there. This is another one of my favourites for you. Made from delicious crispy apples, a lot of cinnamon and a hint of vanilla, these oats are perfect when warm and served with some gooey peanut butter on top.

I am entering the busiest part of my year now with four large exams looming, so I won’t be posting as frequently (as you may have already noticed) I have been still making a lot of healthy recipes, I really just haven’t had the time to write them up properly. I am looking forward to this being a fun post-exams task and something I can spend a lot of time on in my summer break! So please be paitient with my while I try and cram large amounts of legal content into my head, I promise there will be some great recipes on the other side. My overall food feeling at the moment is predominantly plant based and I am loving it. So here is a little sample of one of my new favourite breakfasts that I am enjoying at the moment (not that chocolate peanut butter oats will ever get old!).

I had been intrigued by this idea for awhile, as one of my favourite desserts as a child was apple sponge – it was in fact the first thing I really learnt how to bake properly. So fair to say, I am a fan of cooked apples. Hence, where my enthusiasm for some kind of oat form came from. This recipe is simple, and super fulling from both the fibre in the oats and apple. It can be diary free and gluten free depending on the ingredients you use; as well as refined sugar free.  Although our mornings are getting warmer in New Zealand I still am enjoying my warm oats to start the day and these are just delicious.

Cinnamon Apple Pie Oats:

1/2 cup oats (I have also made this recipe with brown rice flakes and achieved a good result)
1/2 cup milk of your choice
1/2 cup water
1 teaspoon (or a big sprinkle) of cinnamon
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 apple chopped/diced into small pieces

Firstly; place your oats, milk and water on the stove and bring to the boil.
Secondly; once boiling add the cinnamon and vanilla, then turn down the oats to a simmer and stir until they begin to thicken.
Thirdly; add the chopped apple and continue to stir until the apple softens a little and your oats reach the desired consistency. Note, you may need to add a little more liquid.

Serve with any leftover apple on top, sunflower seeds, peanut butter or your other favourite fruit toppings and enjoy warm 🙂

IMG_5562.PNG

IMG_5579.PNG

One thought on “Cinnamon Apple Pie Oats

Leave a Reply

