The Weekly Bake: Banana Bread

I posted a photo of this banana bread earlier this week, to fabulous response on instagram, so I thought I better share it with you guys quickly because it was delicious!

The main purpose behind this baking experiment was as a part of a law students event that I was helping to organise. The day aimed to promote all kinds of health and wellbeing with students and I was in charge of the physical aspect, namely creating some healthy baked goods for the students to enjoy. A couple of my favourites were used like the Chocolate Peanut Butter Crunch and the No-Added-Sugar slice but I wanted a bit of a challenge to make something new so I found an old recipe that I had saved up from ages ago and decided to give it a go.

This recipe is simple and takes all of ten minutes to prep (I know because I made it at 10pm last night when my boyfriend and I were craving some baked goodness) and around half an hour to cook. So within 40 minutes of reading this you could be eating it! The resulting banana bread is quite dense and almost chewy, but my goodness it is delicious. I love the texture and how dense it is, it means you only need one slice (or half of one) before you all satisfied. Another great thing is that it is gluten free, dairy free, refined sugar free and vegan – so you can’t really feel guilty about eating a couple of slices even if you can manage it! It went down a treat with the students on the day, and has been requested a number of times at home, so I have stamped it a baking success and decided to share it with you all:

Healthified Banana Bread:
2 1/2 cups of oats (gluten free if necessary)
1 cup mashed banana (around 2 large or 3 small nanas)
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup coconut sugar (or just use more mashed banana)
2 t baking powder
1 t cinnamon
1/2 cup chocolate chips (this are completely optional so find vegan ones if necessary)

First: Preheat your oven to 180 degrees, and line a loaf tin with baking paper
Second: Place your oats in a food processor and blend until a fine flour forms
Third: Place all ingredients in a bowl and fold together until well combined
Four: Transfer the ingredients into your waiting loaf tin, then place in the oven for around 25 mins. The loaf is done when a skewer comes out clean.

This loaf is enjoyed best slightly warm out of the oven, with extra peanut butter on top. Or it is perfectly tasty cold and as a great afternoon pick me up. Enjoy and happy baking everyone! 🙂

IMG_5616.JPG

IMG_5635.JPG

IMG_5663.PNG

IMG_5664.PNG

2 thoughts on “The Weekly Bake: Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

