Vegan Nachos

It is safe to say that this recipe has become a fail-safe favourite in my house. Tested on friends and skeptical boyfriends, it has succeeded and is a delicious way to pack some veges into a typically unhealthy meal. The idea of turning nachos vegan seems quite backwards to many, because the cheese, sour cream and meat seem to be regarded as integral by many. But in this recipe guacamole, beans and your favourite collection of vegetables combine to make a delicious dish. This is quick to make, and normally does a meal and lunch for me and my boyfriend. If you are feeding a family go for two cans of beans and bulk it out with veges.

Sweet Potato chips are perfect to replace corn chips, they go plenty crispy and are delicious with the guacamole on it’s own. I also love having grated carrots, because I am pretty spice sensitive and I find it helps to dull the spice. Also on this note, I do not make my nachos overly spicy so if you are a fan of the real mexican kick real free to add some chili in your beans mixture. I love eating these nachos with my hands and getting all messy because this is how I remember eating nachos as a kid. In short vegan nachos are fun, delicious, and approved by skeptics and vegans alike.

Vegan Nachos:
1 onion diced
2 cloves of garlic – crushed
Sprinkle of paprika
1 tin of crushed tomatoes (I often opt for a mexican flavour)
1 tin of red kindey beans

Guacamole:
1 large avocado
Juice of one lemon
2 tomatoes
Fresh herbs

My favourite vege accompniments:
Orange sweet potato chips
Corn
Grated carrot (helps with the spice if you are sensitive like me!)

First:Turn on your oven to preheat to 200 degrees. Slice your sweet potato into round slices, lay on a tray with baking paper and bake for around 20 minutes, before turning, then cook for another 10 minutes until crispy. While these are baking, start on the beans mixture.
Second: In a frying pan, heat a small amount of oil, then add your onion and garlic with paprika and saute until the onion is soft and fragrant.
Third: Add the beans and tomatoes, and turn your pan down to a simmer. I often add a little bit of water to help the beans simmer down and absorb the liquids and flavours. Allow to simmer for around 10-20 minutes. I have cooked this on two different stoves – my home stove takes around 10 minutes, whereas the other stove took around 20. So just watch until the mixture reduces and absorbs the liquids.
Fourth: While, the beans simmer down, mash the avocado with a fork. Add the juice of the lemon, chopped tomatoes and any fresh herbs you have always go well.
Fifth: Serve your beans mixture on top of your crispy chips with lots of guacamole and your vegetables. Enjoy!

IMG_5705.PNG

IMG_5640.PNG

IMG_5895.PNG

IMG_5934.PNG

One thought on “Vegan Nachos

Leave a Reply

