Chocolate Zucchini Oats

I fully admit it, I am a complete zoats addict. Zoats, you ask? Zucchini oats. I had never been the biggest zucchini fan, I tend to find them rubbery and a bit gross at time. This recipe however, is not rubbery and gross at all, it is deliciously creamy and not too heavy for your morning stomach and to be honest I can’t stop eating it – I may have had it for like a week straight and still be going strong. Maybe it is because I feel so good about having some greens in my breakfast, even though they are hidden amongst the chocolate. Regardless, the fact is that they are delicious and I thought it was time to share them with you.

Over the summer I was lucky enough to travel to Indonesia on a 6 week scholarship / exchange programme. Travelling to a country so different to my own was very eye opening and as cliche as it is, I did realise how lucky I am to live where I do. The people I met whilst in Indonesia were absolutely amazing and I wasn’t prepared to fall in love with them and the city I stayed in as much as I did. The food in Indonesia was a very interesting experience. They have no grasp of gluten free or dairy free or any other such intolerances or allergies. Trying to communicate ‘no meat’ was sometimes a struggle and on the whole I ate a lot of rice because I figured that wasn’t going to kill me. I also did my fair share of indulging in desserts and tasty goodies – which they had a surprisingly large number of! We were taken to a number of gorgeous cafes with beautiful desserts and as a baking lover it was just too hard to resist. After six weeks of indulging and trying everything I could, it is fair to say I wasn’t feeling my best when I arrived home and since then I have made a real effort to cut out all refined sugars from my life. I know I have a sugar addiction (like most of us) and I really agree with Sarah Wilson’s way of living so I have been doing my best to live the IQS way. This has involved minimising waste, eating lots of greens and slow cooking where possible. So far it is lots of fun and I am loving it.

Anyway onto the zoats… If you have prepped your zucchini before hand (i.e. grating it) then this recipe is super easy and takes like 5 minutes to cook up on the stove. If you zucchini isn’t prepared it’s not big deal, just allow some time to grate it up before hand.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup oats
1 small zucchini grated (around 1/2 a packed cup)
1 tsp chia seeds (optional)
1/2 scoop protein powder (optional)
1 cup water
1/2 cup milk of your choice – adjust to your requirements
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tbspn cacao
Your favourite toppings

First: add you oats, water, milk, chia seeds, grated zucchini and cinnamon to the pot. Stir all of this together to combine and while the pot is coming to the boil stir in your protein powder if using – be careful not to let it go lumpy.
Second: Once the pot begins to boil, turn it down onto low to simmer so it can absorb the rest of the liquids. This is when I stir in my cacao – note I have used a lot of cacao because I love the chocolatey flavour, so you might have to adjust it to your own taste.
Third: Once all the liquids are absorbed and the zucchini is ‘melted’ into the mixture you are ready to serve with your favourite toppings!

My topping addictions are: peanut butter, mayvers spread, pumpkin/sunflower seeds, cacao nibs, coconut flakes…. etc etc. Anything goes is really the philosophy I work by – but peanut butter is always a must!

So enjoy this easy green breakfast and let me know if you enjoy it. If you are looking for more inspiration for zucchini oats see: Nutrition Stripped or She Loves Eating 2015/03/img_7103.jpg

2015/04/img_7247.jpg

2015/04/img_7323.jpg

2015/04/img_7195.jpg

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Oats

Leave a Reply

