Cauliflower Soup

Even though we have just had the first day of spring here in New Zealand, I still can’t get enough of this creamy delicious soup. As a child I absolutely hated soup. I think any form of pureed or liquid vegetables was not well received by any child. I am also still scared with pre-school memories of ‘soup’ which was basically random chunks of vegetables in water – or at least that’s how my childhood brain remembers it. Safe to say, I am a soup skeptic. I’m also a bit wary about cauliflower. So its safe to say that I was a bit nervous about my trying this recipes and I will happily say I was pleasantly surprised and have now gotten to the point where I crave this soup.

This recipe is generous, it creates enough for multiple dinners or lunches – or if you’re like me you’ll end up eating it straight for like three days. The ingredients are simple, and easy things that you have on hand and they come together beautifully. I think my favourite thing about this soup, is it’s creamy texture. It’s light and full of air and delicious with buttery toast on the side. I’ve played around with adding peas and spinach once the soup is cooked and blended and they are both great additions if you want to add more vegetables. If not, it is perfect the way it is!

Ingredients:

75g of Butter / Around 1/4-1/3 cup of Olive Oil for vegans
2 medium onions, chopped
5 cloves of crushed garlic
2.5 tbsp of morrocan seasoning
1 large cauliflower chopped
100g vegetable stock concentrate
600ml water
400ml coconut cream
200ml milk of choice
salt and pepper to taste

Method:

Firstly, melt the butter/warm the oil in a large saucepan on a medium heat and sauté the onions and garlic slowly until the onions are transparent.
Secondly, add all of the remaining ingredients expect the coconut cream. Simmer the mixture gently until the cauliflower is soft (around 15 minutes).
Thirdly, with a stick blender or normal blender puree the mixture until smooth. You might have to do this in two or three batches depending on the size of your blender.
Fourthly, return the smooth mixture to the saucepan. Add the coconut cream and bring to the boil – at this point add any extra vegetables that you would like! Serve with your favourite toast and enjoy!

I hope you enjoy this easy soup recipe as much as I do. It’s a staple for meat free nights and a deliciously comforting lunch on blustery days.

  

Leave a Reply

