Say hello to… Megan from ‘Apron Strings and Sticky Fingers’

I have a treat in store for you today, I have teamed up with a lovely fellow New Zealand food blogger in a wee exchange so that you can learn a bit more about both of us. Megan of (apronstringandstickyfingers) has generously answered some questions for me and agreed to share a favourite recipe of hers (which you can find at the bottom of this post). I hope you enjoy learning a bit more about both of us.

Introduce yourself in a couple of sentence – name, age, where you live etc
Hi, my name is Megan, I’m 18 and I live in New Zealand. My biggest passion is food and sharing the wonderful way it enriches our lives with others. I’m a pretty simple girl to please…give me a whisk, fluffy socks and a furry friend.

  

Describe your perfect day
I’d start off by going for a nice long run. Then I’d head down to the beach to watch the sunrise, and maybe attempt to do yoga without getting sand everywhere. I think the rest of the day would involve lounging around in the sunshine, eating watermelon and sipping on ice cold lemonade.

What is your favourite recipe right now?
I absolutely cannot resist berry crumble. I made a healthy version on my blog, and I can’t get enough of it.

IMG_9345  IMG_9346

What is your favourite way to spoil yourself?
I’m not ashamed to say, I am a typical girl…nothing says I love you like a new pair of shoes ( or yoga pants, I’m not picky)

Why does healthy eating and living appeal to you?
To me it just makes perfect sense. Eating well and treating your body with the respect it deserves makes you look and feel amazing. Also, real food tastes so much better. Is there anything better than freshly picked strawberries?

How do you make the best choices for your health while balancing your personal life, study and other commitments?
I have to admit, this is a tough one. However, my philosophy is that life is all about balance.The way I see it, you spend time on the things you care about right? So if you really care about living a long and fulfilling life then it is essential that you make your health a priority.
I make time each day to prepare good food, move my body and think positively because my health is just as important to me as getting good grades or spending time with my friends.

How do you remain motivated and inspired to exercise? 
I’m motivated to exercise because I need it to survive! (not to be dramatic.) Exercise gives me energy, passion and excitement for each day, without it I feel sluggish, slow and somewhat depressed. I also set small goals for myself which keeps giving me something to strive for. At the moment I’m aiming to run 15km without stopping.

Who are your role models? 
In terms of food, my biggest role model is Nigella Lawson. I’ve watched her cooking shows since I was a kid. She has such charisma and charm. When writing my blog posts I feel that she has been a big influence in my style.
When it comes to healthy living, my absolute favourite is Jordan Younger. She has an amazing blog, and is so genuine, open and honest. She is basically living my dream, and so I really look up to her.

Do you have an active living ‘mantra’ which you live by?
My favourite quote is “Life is a balance of holding on and letting go.”
For me, I want to hold on to those I love, the things that bring me happiness, and my passion which brings joy to others. On the flip side, I want to let go of things which will hold me back from reaching my full potential such as, doubt, self-loathing and negativity.

Now here is her delicious ‘Banana Bread for Babes‘ Recipe for you all to enjoy!

  • 3 ripe bananas (i.e. not green…preferably a bit spotty and fragrant)
  • 3 eggs
  • 300g flour (I used buckwheat)
  • 4 dates, chopped (maybe 6 because we both know you can’t resist…)
  • 2 Tbsp raisins
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg (best spice again)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup greek yoghurt (really important! Note: greek yogurt isn’t from Greece…)
  • 1/3 cup walnuts
  • 1 Tbsp pumpkin seeds

You need to start by mushing up the bananas. Then you mix the eggs, vanilla and maple syrup in. Add the dry ingredients, then the yoghurt. Now it’s time for the dates and raisins. Plonk it on in to a greased loaf tin. Sprinkle a cascade of green confetti (AKA pumpkin seeds) onto your loaf and bake at 180 degrees C for 45-60 mins (or more if you prick it and it doesn’t come out clean!). Then enjoy smothered with peanut butter!
Find the original recipe here.

3 thoughts on “Say hello to… Megan from ‘Apron Strings and Sticky Fingers’

Leave a Reply

