Sugar Free September, I Quit Sugar and Chocolate Chip Cookies

My sugar quitting habits have been well documented on my blog before. I’ve completed three rounds of the I Quit Sugar Eight Week Programme and I generally try to live a lifestyle without the sweet stuff. However, over the last couple of months I, like everyone else, got into a bit of a sweet/junk food habit. A piece of chocolate after dinner, lots of ice cream out with friends, potato chips… all the usual suspects. While this has, for the most part, been balanced out with plenty of vegetables and lots of exercise, I know I haven’t been feeling my best.

At the start of September I came on board as an Ambassador for The Muesli who each year promote ‘Sugar Free September’. I used this as a chance to attempt to reboot and reprogram back to my old sugar free ways. The programme promotes the one line rule, and is similar to the IQS approach, which means that anything which has more than 5% sugar needs to go – I find this is a super easy trick to remember whenever you’re out at the supermarket. My sugar free September was a relative success, there were definitely a few slip ups and a few outing for fries still happened, but I definitely began paying more attention to the treats I was eating.

During the programme, I did an interview with The Muesli where they talked about a day in the life of me – check it out here.

I’m attempting to ride this momentum into the next I Quit Sugar Eight Week Programme which starts today! This was the programme which I completed for the first time at the same time last year, and from my experience I know that while the programme was challenging, once I had broken the habit it was the best I had ever felt, physically and mentally. Coming into my final ever law exams (!!!!) I know I need to be at the top of my mental game, so I am going to fully commit to this next programme and see where it takes me this time. This year has definitely been a very balanced and enjoyable one for me, but I am looking forward to the challenge of giving up the sweet stuff again and I can’t wait to see the benefits.

Popular to contrary belief, it is possible to enjoy delicious sweet treats that are perfectly acceptable in an IQS way of life. These Black Bean Chocolate Chip Cookies are one such treat – enjoy!

Black Bean Chocolate Chip Cookies 

Ingredients 
1 400g tin black beans
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
1 scoop NuZest Clean Lean Protein in Rich Chocolate (perfect with only 0.76g of sugar!)
1/4 cup cacao
2 tbsp softened coconut oil
1/4 cup rice malt syrup (optional)
Handful of dark chocolate chips – I use the Well Naturally Brand as they are sweetened with stevia and only contain 0.7g of sugar per 100 grams!

Method 
First: Preheat an oven to 180. Prepare a baking tray with baking paper/coconut oil.
Second: Place all ingredients except for the chocolate chips and half a cup of oats in a food processor and blend until smooth.
Third: Transfer the mixture into a bowl and stir through the chocolate chips and remaining oats. Mix together until combined.
Fourth: Scoop desert spoonfuls of mixture onto the baking tray, then flatten out using a fork or the back of your hand for circular, flat cookies.
Fifth: Place into the preheated oven and bake for 20 minutes. Once cooked, remove from the oven and place on a cooling rack to cool before serving.

fullsizerender-2

These go really well spread with nut butter for a delicious snack or dessert!

Leave a Reply

